Movie Review I

by zenquaker

The Adjustment Bureau

Even if I didn’t like Matt Damon I would have had to watch this because it is based on a Philip K. Dick story. Which is odd, because I’m not sure I like reading Philip K. Dick anymore, but there it is. I liked the characters a lot [+]. The authentic but not really politician and the ground down by the job adjuster I thought were especially well done. The story has it’s good and bad points. I really like the way David Norris (Matt Damon) challenging the adjusters exposes that they are just like any other organization, full of politics and disillusionment [+]. However, Norris’ reaction to existence of the Adjustment Bureau seems extremely understated [-]. I can’t imagine a real person having their reality shattered that much and handling it that well. There were two bits that really stood out for me. One, I loved the notebooks for the adjusters. I thought the special effects for those were perfectly not flashy [+]. And Elise’s [Emily Blunt] outfit in the final sequence was so incredibly beautiful I was stunned [+].

The movie gets one point of Oomph Factor for the quote at the end: “… free will is a gift that you’ll never know how to use until you fight for it.” I talked about this disjointedly in another post (Free Will I).

Final rating: Eight

