Dream II

by zenquaker

I was at a programming convention with my sister (the younger one, which is odd, because the older one is the computer programmer). We were sitting at my booth in the exhibit hall when a group of orphans came up to talk to me. They were having problems with the program I had written. Since they were orphans they didn’t know when they were born. When they tried to enter an unknown birth date, the program crashed. I realized that the program expected a birth date, and told the orphans I would work on fixing the problem.

I woke up, but I have the day off from work, so I rolled over and went back to sleep.

I was going over the code for the program in my head. Even though it was all in my head I could see it clear as day, pixelated green characters on a black background, exactly like the monitors for the Apple ][. I realized that I was running a loop to do a sum, but the sum loop was within a DoW loop. The problem was that I wasn’t resetting the sum variable at the end of the sum loop.

I woke up.

When I woke up the second time I almost jumped out of bed to fix the program. Last night I was thinking about writing a program last night to combine data from different personal informatics systems. I’m not sure where the orphans come from. I do have a SAS program at work that runs searches for different people on the last week’s data. The incidents that don’t show up in anyone’s search are called the Orphans. Or maybe it’s just the Orphans from the Warriors.

