Habit IV

by zenquaker

Day two brings us another five minutes of Chess tactics problems. Just like yesterday I went four for seven, but on one of the problems I was too slow and lost rating points even though I got the correct answer. My rating dropped another 38 points today, but that’s meaningless. What I should be worried about is some of the obvious stuff I am missing. Today I missed a pawn pinned to a mate threat. I used to be able to catch that sort of thing. I need to get back to where I used to be before I can really improve.

Two slight issues today. One, I was tempted to do other computery things before doing my tactics work. I think I can manage that, perhaps by changing some of the habits I have from when I’m using my computer at work. Two, I had a Baby Ruth instead of an Almond Joy for my positive reinforcement. I think the Almond Joy worked better. But I don’t have enough Almond Joys to make it all the way through the course. Oh, woe is me! šŸ™„

