Movie Review IX

by zenquaker

X-Men: First Class

A prequel from back in the days when Professor Xavier and Magneto were friends, trying to find mutants to help stop the sadistic mutant mastermind behind the Cuban missile crisis.

I liked this movie a lot at first, but now that I think about it I’m seeing some problems with it. That’s after I get past the fact that I like the original Sebastian Shaw character better, and I think the Beast turns blue story was handled better in the comics than in the movie (I used to have that issue, thanks to my brother gifting me all his Iron Man comic books when I was a kid). The characters and their interactions are handled pretty well [+]. Some, like Banshee, Darwin, and the henchmen  weren’t very well formed, but that is balanced against introducing and forming interactions between so many characters.  The actions sequences were spotty. The attack on CIA training base was poor, with the good guys just sitting there like bumps on a log [-]. The final sequence was good, especially the aerial battle between Banshee and Angel [+], although it was written in a way that left some of the characters with nothing to do. The point that comes to me after watching it is that Sebastian Shaw’s plan is really stupid. The stupidity of it doesn’t interfere with the movie enough to rate a minus, but you’re just sitting there afterwords thinking “What the hell was he thinking?” The movie does a good job of filling in the back story, but doesn’t get a plus for it because of the stupid Wolverine cameo. I mean, it’s a cute little scene, but then why doesn’t Professor X recognize him in the first movie? It’s very R2D2/Attack of the Clones.  The movie gets a point of oomph for the issues of mutants as feared heroes. The conflict is handled well, and not just on the mutant vs. human level, but also within the mutants and within the CIA.

Final rating: 6/10

Best Quote: “You want society to accept you, but you can’t even accept yourself.” -Magneto

