Movie Review XV

by zenquaker

Forbidden Planet

Commander Adams and his crew come to the fourth planet in the Altair system to investigate the loss of the colony there. Amazingly they find one survivor and his young and beautiful daughter, a sore sight to men trapped in a space ship for over a year. They tell a tale of an invisible force that killed the other colonists, and demand that Commander Adams leave for the good of his crew. But Adams insists on getting fresh orders from Earth, and while the crew works on building a transmitter, the invisible force comes back.

It’s been a long time since I watched one of the old sci-fi classics. Back in college they ran a series of them on campus, and I got to see When Worlds Collide and The Day the Earth Stood Still (which is why I laughed out loud at the secret words in Army of Darkness). So when Netflix recommended this to me in desperation, I went for it. The characters were rather cardboard, and the dialogue rather stilted [-]. Of course, that’s par for the course for a lot of these 50s films. The story was pretty good [+], if a bit cliched. Of course, it probably wasn’t cliched back in the 50s, so I’m not going to give it a minus for that. The special effects were also pretty decent for a 50s film [+], especially the 20 cubic mile machine. According to IMDB, it even got nominated for an Oscar for special effects, although it was beaten by The Ten Commandments, which I haven’t seen. There was a fair bit of technobabble, but it fits the film. It’s not trying to be hard sci-fi, but aiming more toward something like the original series of Star Trek.

I must say that I’m not sure which I found weirder: Leslie Nielsen young, or Leslie Nielsen being serious.

Final Rating: 5/10

Best Quote: Adams: “Nice climate you have here. High oxygen content.” Robby the Robot: “I never use it myself. It promotes rust.”

