Book Review II

by zenquaker

Catching Fire

In the second book of the Hunger Games, we find our hero Katniss trying to deal with the aftermath of her victory in the arena. Things are easier for her family due to the rewards of winning, but they are more difficult among her friends because of what she had to do to win. Before she can figure it all out, she finds herself plunged back into the arena again for a special 75th anniversary Hunger Games.

This is the second book in the series, and that is often where trilogies show their flaws (trilogies tend to have lots of flaws, which is why I tend to avoid them). The second books is where you either realize that the story was only good for one book, or it’s where you wait around because the story was only good for two books, and they need some filler in between. I didn’t get that sense from that book. It certainly kept me reading like the first book [+], if only because it was being so incredibly sadistic to the characters. The characters, many of whom seem kind of flat in the first book, are fleshed out a fair bit in the second book [+]. There are other characters introduced who are again flat, and again fleshed out more in the third book which I am reading now. She (Suzanne Collins, the author) seems to need some time to get her characters going. I felt the story was weaker in this book [-]. It’s full of plotting and machinations of the sort that conspiracy theorists tend to weave. The arena they fought it was likewise mechanized, almost to the point of absurdity. I mean, if they really had the technology to implement that arena, they could have solved a lot of the problems facing the social structure of the world she’s constructed. But in the end, it did it’s job and got me to read the third book.

Final Rating: 6/10

Best Quote: “I find myself in the position of having to console them. Since I’m the person going in to be slaughtered, this is somewhat annoying.” -Katniss Everdeen

