Commute II

by zenquaker

If you’ve been following this blog you may have noticed a spike in posts the past couple of days. This is fallout from my work on changing my sleeping habits. It’s actually been working pretty well. While I had some problems in the first few weeks, I have gotten up on time without any trouble every day for the past week and a half. I am letting myself sleep an extra hour on the weekends, but only if I feel really tired (which I did last weekend).

I think the best sign is that I didn’t sleep very well last night. I woke up at 3:30 and kept waking up throughout the night. Still, even though I was feeling very not rested I got up on time this morning. I did bribe myself by saying I would grab some sleep on the Metro, but here I am blogging.

That’s one of the side effects of getting up earlier: I have more time. While it might seem that getting up earlier would just lead to going to bed earlier, the fact of the matter is that I was just spending too much time in bed. Also, I find it a lot easier to do things before dinner than after dinner. I can manage some work on Chess right after dinner, but then I sort of wind down most nights. Maybe it’s because I eat a big dinner rather than eating a big breakfast like people tell me I should.

One thing that the extra time has allowed me to do is to meditate at home rather than on the train. I had talked before about how I was meditating on the train but wanted to get back on the cushion. Unfortunately, I’m not back on the cushion yet. I am still having some back pain, so I’m meditating on my back on the floor. Not ideal, but better than the train, and I don’t think my back is up to supporting itself yet. I am doing some calisthenics after meditating to try and get my back into shape.

Since I’m meditating at home I don’t need to meditate on the train. I suppose I could keep up the train meditation, but for now I’m not pushing for a lot of meditation. Even if you have the time, doing it a lot can be hard, and I don’t want to stress the system and mess up the work I’ve done on getting up on time. So I was trying to figure out what to do on the train, and I realized I had a backlog of blog posts (a backblog?). I still have several movie reviews to write, and trying to catch up on those was getting in the way of writing about what’s going on in my life. So now I am writing blog posts on the train and uploading them when I get home at night.

So we’ll just have to see how long I can keep up the increased output without running out of things to say.

