Movie Review XXX

by zenquaker

Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1978)

Four friends in San Francisco become increasingly concerned about the emotional detachment and odd behavior of people close to them. They try to tell themselves that it’s crazy, but more and more they come to realize that everyone around them is being replaced by aliens.

Yes, this is more of me running out of things to watch on Netflix, and going back and watching the supposed classics. In this case I think maybe the classic was the 1956 version, but I was not aware of the 1956 version when I put this one in my queue. It’s certainly not all bad. I was a bit impressed by some of the special effects. Parts of the landing were very basic, just soap bubbles on water, but the growth of the parasitic flowers was very well done considering this was 1978 [+]. The basic concept of the body snatches was also well done. I will admit that it was creepy enough that I actually checked my closets before going to bed last night [+]. There was nothing there. Everything is all right. Really, I feel much better now. Unfortunately the rest of the movie didn’t really hold up. The pacing was horrible, and the movie really dragged, especially after they discovered that aliens really were invading [-]. The dialog was really poorly written, especially in trying to deal with the improbability of an alien invasion [-]. The climactic battle in the factory was just silly [-].

Final Rating: 3/10

Best Quote: Bennell: “How many are you supposed to take?” Driscoll: “I says ‘take one.'” Bennell: “Take five.”

