Micro OO

by zenquaker

I’ve been thinking seriously about reactivating one of my twitter accounts or getting a new one. I keep having these short little bits that I want to share, but that don’t seem to be worth a blog post. They would fit right in on twitter, but it seems to me that an actual blog post requires more weight.

Like the ghost train we had this morning. I’m taking the bus to the Metro, and just as the bus gets up to the train tracks, the crossing signal lights up. A minute later they go back up again, but no train ever passes. I thought it was an interesting little bit on the morning commute, but didn’t really have anything else to say about it. On the other hand, the first three sentences of this paragraph are 218 characters long, which is more than twitter can handle.

I think I’ve been resisting because if I reactivate my twitter account I won’t be able to make fun of people on twitter any more. Like many others, I like to call people on twitter twits.

Or maybe I just need to let go of my preconceived notions of what a blog is and should be. That’s what the Buddha would tell me to do. He would tell me that my clinging to my desire to have only sizable posts on my blog will eventually cause me the suffering of being on twitter. Of course, Jesus would tell me to just stop calling people twits.

Which makes me wonder. I always think of Buddha and Jesus as being very serious kind of guys. But it seems wrong somehow to imagine them without a sense of humor, as if in imagining them as so serious is denigrating them in some way. I’ll have to try imagining Buddha cracking wise, or Jesus pulling a practical joke on the disciples. It reminds me of a joke I heard the other day: How many feminists does it take to screw in a light bulb? That’s not funny..

So here’s the plan: If I can find a WordPress app for my phone, I’ll use that to make mini blog posts from my phone whenever something random hits me. I’ll title them “Micro” or something. If there is no such app, I’ll reactive my twitter account. Or I’ll get a new one called “SomeGuyOffACliff,” so you can all follow “SomeGuyOffACliff.” No, I don’t think it’s already been done! How could you impugn my creative genius with such a thought?

Update: Obviously (given the previous post), I found a WordPress app. It works, but thank God I’m not doing my full posts on the thing. My apologies to all those who were looking forward to following me off a cliff.

